All Collections
General Food Safety
What is Food Standard 3.2.2A?
What is Food Standard 3.2.2A?

Learn about Food Standard 3.2.2A.

Updated over a week ago

Food Standard 3.2.2A is a new national Food Safety Standard in place to assist food businesses in handling and processing food in a way to ensure it is safe to eat. It became law on December 8 2022, and most Australian businesses have had to comply with the new standard since December 8 2023*.

What are Category 1 and 2 businesses?

Category 1 businesses:

  • These include restaurants, cafes, takeaway food shops, caterers, hospitals, childcare centres, family daycares, bakeries, mobile food vendors, market stalls, supermarkets and service stations that make and serve food.

Category 2 businesses:

  • These include supermarkets, delis, service stations, seafood retailers, market stalls, and convenience stores.

Food Standard 3.2.2A has three main requirements:

Food Handlers (including chefs, cooks and waiters) in Category 1 and 2 businesses need to complete Food Handler training or show that they have the necessary skills and knowledge in food safety. The official Australian Institute of Food Safety Food Handler Course is nationally recognised and meets all the Food Handler training requirements under Food Standard 3.2.2A

Category 1 and 2 businesses need to appoint at least one Food Safety Supervisor who must be available to advise and supervise the Food Handlers when they are handling unpackaged, potentially hazardous, ready-to-eat foods.

Food Safety Supervisors are required to take a training course delivered by a Registered Training Organisation and the Statement of Attainment must be less than 5 years old, which makes it necessary for Food Safety Supervisors to take a refresher course every 5 years.**

3. Showing that food is safe:

Category 1 businesses should maintain records as part of a food safety management system. They must be stored for at least 3 months and be available upon request. Key records you may need to keep include:

  • temperature of food on receival and transport

  • storage and display temperatures

  • cooking temperatures, or other pathogen control steps

  • time taken to cool or reheat foods

  • cleaning and sanitising of equipment and premises

* Note for NSW: In New South Wales, school canteens, children's services, supermarkets, greengrocers, and delis have been granted a 12-month extension, until December 8, 2024, to fulfil the new food safety requirements mandated by Food Standard 3.2.2A.

** Note for VIC: In Victoria, all Food Safety Supervisors who acquired their certification before December 8 2023, have until December 2028 to renew it.

Did this answer your question?